Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subject that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

There is a debate that some people believe university students should study subjects that they like, while others think those students should learn useful subjects related to science and technology in their career life. I tend to agree that students should allow choosing whatever they want. Those people who believe that students have opportunities to choose whatever they like argue that students have the ability to decide what they want to do in the near future. University students should have options to decide on their subjects as they have to take responsibility for their own lives as adults. For example, people who are interesting in arts and sports would want to be sporters and artists in the future. For those students, If they are only allowed to learn science and technology, it would be painful for them. While it's reasonable to only let university students learn useful subjects related to technology to some extent. Due to fierce competition nowadays, young generations usually have to earn their livelihood and plan to find decent jobs. Thus, they have no choice but to waste their time only preparing for their careers life from university. It would be useful for them if they can master office skills. Besides, those students who study computer science and data analysis can find better jobs with higher salaries easier. In sum, although scientific subjects are beneficial for careers in the future, students should be free to decide on their life. Scientists play a vitally important role in the world, but every social role contributes to society. Universities should respect the choices of every student.