Write an essay addressing the following prompt. Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Many people assume that the surging petrol prices will avert issues spawned by traffic dense and pollution. Yet, I totally disagree with this statement, considering the negative spill-over effect if the government insists to raise the petrol expense. Evidence in many countries has shown that the skyrocketing petrol tariff always affects domestic socio-economic instability in any country and has the potential to create chaos. This situation is derived from the uneasiness of the people about the authority's prowess in stabilising the cost. For instance, in Indonesia, protests led by students and other civil society organisations demanding the government reduce petrol costs will always emerge right after the government enacted any policy linked to the rise in petrol payments. Thus, it is much better for the ruling authority to seek alternatives in providing reasonably priced petrol fees. In my opinion, the best alternative is to improve the quality and quantity of public transport. The former refers to the betterment of public transport services targeting the increase of convenience to the passengers. The latter points to the widening access for the people to reach the public transport through varying public transport choices. As the quality and quantity of public transport improved, there is a tendency for the public to shift from the use of personal transport to public transport. This can be seen in many developed countries where most of their citizens have moved to harness public transport and significantly contributed to abating the emission emitted by the large numbers of non-public transport. In conclusion, many cases have proof that raising petrol tariff is not come as a silver bullet to address traffic dense and air pollution due to the negative side effects on domestic instability. As suggested, advancing public transport services is likely more efficient to be considered by the policymakers.