The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

Our planet is facing numerous problems, such as rising population around the world, which can lead to problems such as overpopulation. The effect of overpopulation can be immense, and some people consider it the greatest problem faced by all mankind. To better tackle the problems overpopulation has brought about, we should first look at the possible factors that contributed to this problem. Technological advancement was perhaps the biggest reason as people are able to produce a great amount of food. Advances in medical science have enabled us to defeat a whole range of diseases. Combining the increase in food supply with a low mortality rate tipped the balance and became the starting point of overpopulation. In addition, some people have little or no knowledge about family planning. Those people are unable to understand the harmful effects of overpopulation and lack of quality education prompts them to avoid contraceptive measures. The effects of overpopulation are quite severe. The first of these is the depletion of resources. The Earth can only produce a limited amount of water and food, which is falling short of the current needs. Most of the environmental damage being seen in the last fifty years is because of the growing number of people on the planet. They are cutting down forests, hunting wildlife in a reckless manner, causing pollution and creating a host of problems. Rise in the number of vehicles and industries have badly affected the quality of air. Rise in the amount of carbon emissions leads to global warming. Melting of polar ice caps, changing climate patterns, rising sea level are a few of the consequences that we might have to face due to environmental pollution. To sum up, it is safe to say that almost all issues we are facing at the moment can be traced back to overpopulation. As the population is growing at a rapid pace, raising awareness among people regarding family planning and the severe consequences of overpopulation can hopefully curb the increasing number of people around the world. If we can all act in a more responsible manner, we can solve the problem one day.