Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution? And what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

The accumulation of pollutants in bodies of water have been troublesome for nature protectors. The paragraphs below will outline why the fishing industry and the air pollution are involved and directly influencing in the contamination of seas and rivers, and explain why it can cause a decrease in food production as well as an increase in cases of contagious diseases. There are several motives to justify why the Earth's water is polluted. One of which is the growth of industrial fishing. The aquatic environment is resilient and able to take part of the trash thrown on it and recycle it somehow, however, as the comercial fishing has destroyed its components, which encompasses algae, fish, and microrganisms, and limited their ability to diminish the damage. Another justification are the toxic gases thrown in the atmosphere. In the water cycle, when the moisture content in the air condenses, it returns to its fluid form and falls from the clouds back to the ground. Although, in this path, it dilutes and carries part of the these scattered gases, polluting lakes. Furthermore, the effects of the maintanance of this pollution would be devastating to both humans and animals. To start with, it would impact the society directly in the production of food of animal origin. Whether it is swine, bovine or poultry, the water used in the creation and in all slaughter stages has to be clean, to avoid, thus, loss of production and carcass condemnation. Additionally, it would increase the rate of animals' infectious diseases in communities, as the role of this fluid in the dissemination of viruses, bacteria and fungus is well documented by researchers. For instance, it is possible to get leptospirosis by taking a bath in a contaminated river. To conclude, the increased demand to fishing and the air pollution influence in the accumulation of pollutants in seas, rivers and lakes all over the world, which, consequently, can lead to difficulties in the production of food and assist in the dissemination of disease-causing agents.