Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when traveling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

In my opinion, mobile technology has boosted people’s capacity to develop their work in many situations and places where it was not possible before. In addition, this definitely brought a large list of advantages that greatly outweigh the possible problems that this innovation could present. Firstly, nowadays people can work from home and this has been a huge innovation bringing a lot of benefits for companies and employees. For example, there are many people who live far away from their workplaces and they spend two or more hours per day travelling to get to their offices or going back home. Working from home allows these people to spend several hours on other personal activities like hanging out with their family or friends, sleeping, reading, watching some TV show or any activity they have in mind that is not work-related. Secondly, employees are able to access their company platform or attend a meeting no matter where they are. For instance, if a staff member of some company is travelling and gets a call from his / her boss asking for a written update of some work-related information, he / she would be able to easily access the company platform on any device to do so. Besides, if later that day his / her boss calls again asking to have a meeting to clarify some of this information, the staff member would be able to attend the meeting virtually without any problem no matter where he / she is. To sum up, being able to do tasks outside the workplace has enhanced the productivity of businesses and the availability of employees by allowing all the staff members of any company to be able to access their information and platform with their credentials, no matter where they are.