Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

The environmental and urbanization issues concerning pollution and road traffics have been widely debated worldwide since the beginning of this century. Some people argue that increasing the price of fuel can effectively solve this issue. However, I personally disagree that it is the best solution and I believe that there are other far more robust alternatives. The most important point to consider is that (no comma) increasing fuel prices can hardly lead to the desired results, as there are still many people who are willing to pay the surged prices without much hesitation. It is because there are high numbers of prosperous people who can still afford the higher prices. Therefore, this method cannot potentially lower the traffic jam effectively. Moreover, the road congestion and pollution are not entirely due to the growing number of vehicles on the road. Instead, it also partially results from the poorer planning of the road infrastructure and the unprecedented fast-growing population in many larger cities in recent years. Therefore, it is clear that increasing the fuel price is not the best remedy for these problems. Alternatively, a better solution would be to improve the structure and planning of the preexisting road infrastructure of the larger cities. It will be better if the local authorities could build more accessible roads available for the cycling and walking residents to provide them more choices other than driving a car. Because if the pedestrians could experience more comfort and safety when they are taking a walk or riding a bicycle, more of them would prefer these alternative methods. Another way to solve these problems may be to encourage the usage of the more environmentally-friendly vehicles that can help fight against the pollution problems. For example, encouraging the public to use the newer models of electric cars can be particularly helpful in this sense. In conclusion, I personally believe that increasing the price of petrol to solve the increasing road congestion and pollution is not the most effective approach as it cannot truly lead to a decreased usage of automobiles. Instead, it will be far better to provide upgraded ways of using the other transport systems.