Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Technology has advanced by leaps and bounds in the past two decades leading to a monumental shift in the way people communicate with each other. In this essay, the impact of technology on the relationships in the society and its detrimental effects are discussed. "Man is a social animal " says the well known adage. The prominent reason for the way mankind has flourished, is the ease and the depth of the relationships between people. However, with the advancements in modes of communication, this has changed drastically. For example, previously, people used to meet and greet each other physically on numerous occasions like birthdays, anniversaries, etc. But presently, this has been on the wane and these kind of meetings happen virtually through video calls. In addition to the above, people have found out ways to expand their network of friends through social media platforms like Facebook, Whatsapp, etc. Even though the advancements in technology have necessarily increased the frequency of communication between people, they have rather turned such relationships shallow. As an example, the amount of joy a family experiences during a yearly reunion is incomparable to the joyous conversations through numerous group video calls around the year. Physical meetings tend to make people comprehend the emotions of others thereby making them more empathetic. This can never be developed virtually. As a matter of fact, it is extremely difficult to rely on friendships blossomed out of social media platforms. To summarize, modern day interactions between people have been largely influenced by the growth of technology and even though there are a few positives, the perils associated with such development, clowns the advantages.