Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways etc.)? Why?

People have differing views on how to improve our transport systems. In my view, money should be spent on both building public transport infrastructure and promoting cycling to meet the economic and environmental needs of modern cities. On the one hand, it is true that public transport infrastructure contributes to economic developments in both developing and developed countries. China’s high-speed rail system, for example, has driven the rapid economic and business growth of the country on an unprecedented scale. Along the high-speed rail lines, the inter-city economic ties have been strengthened in the country. Furthermore, large infrastructure projects such as building tunnels and highways have often been used as a measure to fuel job creation during economic downturns. For these reasons, many believe that public spending on transporation should focus on its infrastructure. On the other hand, I believe that an alternative measure, cycling promotion, should not be neglected, as it is more environmentally friendly. In most urban cities, air pollution is undoubtedly one of the most pressing environmental issues, largely due to the hazardous emissions from fossil-fuel based vehicles. If the government encourages more use of bicycles in cities through subsidies, training and public awareness campaigns, more people will change their transport habits. As a result, we could hope that people use less vehicles, ultimately improving the air quality. In conclusion, while investments in transport infrastructure can stimulate economic activities, I believe that promoting cycling is the solution to air pollution and should be prioritised in government expenditure.