Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In modern society, there are lots of citizens spending less time developing their hobbies and this will bring numerous negative impacts to individuals and society at large. In this essay, I would like to discuss the reason and effects of such phenomenon on both individuals and society. Of all the reasons why people devote less time to hobbies, probably the most significant one is that they easily get addicted to external factors nowadays. Thanks to technological advancement, people are now preferably spending enormous time to play games on their electronic gadgets as it can allow people to have a sense of satisfaction and excitement by just sitting on chairs. For example, online games provide rewards if players can complete the challenges within a time limit. This kind of reward will keep people from spending numerous hours playing games. Worse still, people will sacrifice their spare time to play games instead of developing their hobbies. Regarding the aforementioned reason of why people devote less time to hobbies, it is ubiquitous that spending less time on hobbies is detrimental to people's health and the well-being of society. Firstly, since citizens spend less time to hobbies such as playing sports, they would end up having a wide range of adverse health problems, for instance, obesity, diabetes, coronary heart diseases, to name but a few. In addition, the number of people who admit to hospitals will significantly increase and, hence, workloads of the public and private hospitals will be inevitably increased. As a result, valuable medical resources can not be allocated to those who are suffering from life-threatening diseases. To summarise, with regards to various negative effects can be resulted by spending less time to hobbies, in order to improve the well-being of individuals and society, it is of uttermost importance that the general public should be encouraged to develop their hobbies.