Many argue that young people who commit serious crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With an increasing trend in juvenile delinquency, whether or not young people who commit crimes should have the same punishment as adults has aroused wide concerns among various circles. I personally diagree with the view that young criminals should be punished in the same way as adults. Today I would like to shed light on this topic. Firstly, by having the same punishment as adult offenders, young criminals may not learn from the mistakes that they have made. It is due to the fact that teenagers are at a tender age developmentally, and therefore they are incapable of differentiating right from wrong. According to some research conducted by the University of Hong Kong, the best method to both punish youth offenders and decrease the rate of crimes is to having Change the form of the verb have show examples them to carry out community service. Not only can young criminals participating in community services give them a sense of belonging to society, but it can also reduce the rate of re-committed crimes. What is also worthy of our attention is that career development of young criminals will be hindered if they are punished as same as adult offenders. By having the same punishment as adults, permanent criminal records will be inevitably resulted for young criminals. Since numerous jobs such as those in healthcare professionals are only opened to people who do not have criminal histories, this in turn will have a negative impact on the career path of young criminals and eventually they will be unable to financially support themselves in the future. Worse still, they would commit the crimes again for being become financially independent. All in all, although it is of paramount importance that criminals should be responsible for the mistakes that they have made, young criminals should not be punished in the same way as adult offenders for the sake of their career paths and well-being of society.