Not enough students around the world choose to study science. What are the reasons for these? What impact does this issue have on the society?

A society can only increase its growth rate if it consists of skilled workers from all streams. One of the bitter truths of the world is that a very less number of students opt to go for studying science in comparison to other streams after their 10th exams. This passage will discuss the reasons for this trend and the corresponding issue it is having on society as a whole. Firstly, the Expense of studying in the science stream is considered to be much more in comparison to that of commerce and arts. This is because of highly compensated tutors, big science projects and high university fees. For example:- In my city, the average cost of becoming a scientist or a doctor is ranging from Rupees. 20-25 Lakhs depending on the university, whereas on the other hand, It is only Rupees.8-10 Lakhs for commerce and half of this for arts. The second reason for this trend is the belief that the science stream is much more difficult to crack as compared to others. This is because of the fact that a science student needs to study for around 12-13 Hours a day including coaching in comparison to 5-6 Hours a day for others and the pass percentage is still half in comparison to other streams. As of result of this many students opt for other streams rather than science. This issue is creating an imbalance in the society as a whole because the graduates from the commerce and arts stream are increasing and are available much more than the requirement of employers. On the other side, employers are not able to fill the job vacancies of science stream persons. This is leading to unemployment and dissatisfaction on one side and the need to give premium compensation for science persons on the other side. In the end, I would like to conclude by saying that there is a need to bridge this gap in the society by motivating students in the science stream and solving the above-given problems through the intervention of governmental bodies otherwise this will always be a big hurdle in the growth of society as a whole.