Children are facing more pressures nowadays from academic, social, and commercial perspectives. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce these pressures?

As modern society has become more and more competitive and complex, our next generation faces more pressures from different fronts, ranging from education to social relationships. As a result, the well-being of children could suffer, but this can be addressed by providing more support and changing expectations from teachers and parents. There are many reasons why children are more stressed nowadays. First, the competition in modern society is fierce. With limited places at selective schools and universities, children need to prepare for different types of interviews and entrance exams, and they must do well in public exams. As a result, they are often under immense pressure in order to meet the expectations of others and themselves. Second, the circle of school life is wider than that at home. Children must learn how to work with people from different backgrounds. For those who are minorities, they could face more challenges in overcoming the stereotypes and prejudices from others in school. Effective solutions to children's academic and social stress should come from schools and families. With respect to school, teachers should recognise the individual differences of students, respect that each student has different talents, and everyone has the potential to improve themselves. Additionally, schools should provide mental health training and teach students how to build resilience to stress. With respect to parents, they should spend more time listening to their children and let them know that their parents love them and that the family is their ultimate support. As such, children would feel safer and less worried when faced with new challenges and they experience failures. In conclusion, children face more stress due to the increased competition and complexity of the modern world. However, these conditions can be alleviated if schools and families recognise individual differences and provide the necessary support and skills for upholding children's well-being.