Only rich people should donate to charity. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Philanthropy, for all intents and purposes, is nothing more than an option to make. As this initiative derives from one’s wish and will to make the world a better place to live in, it is unjustifiable to judge their sincerity based on the values of their donation, or worse, their external material belongings. Therefore, I strongly oppose the notion that the rich are solely in charge of donating to charity. There are certain grounds on which my arguments are built. First and foremost, living above the middle class does not necessarily label the wealthy as life-long philanthropists. This is to say that there are, at all times, other ways for both the middle stream and even the poor to help those in dire need. Prevailing examples are ones where people from all walks of life give away food, clothes, making time for voluntary work at nurseries, or deprived remote areas. What consistently appears conspicuous is that as long as the donors are whole-hearted, the delivered degree of care will all be paramount, be its form pictures, or on-time birthday presents. Another scenario to consider is one in which the only care-givers are not always present, thus it is explicit that the significance of those living below the richness line is to be highlighted. When the rich are helplessly inaccessible to the reality of destitution, it is the opportunity, even a necessity that those living nearby, whether able to make ends meet or not, to report to the administators or stake-holders for instant succor as well. Above all the rationales, it is each and every citizen’s duty to assist their underprivileged compatriots. A society could encompass people of all kinds, hence for it to thrive, people should altogether shoulder the burdens, starting from a mission just as light as charity work, like John F. Kennedy once said, “If a free society cannot help the many who are poor, it cannot save the few who are rich.” In that way, not only would these citizens voluntarily keep up their meaningful contribution, but they also could feel motivated, knowing they are given worthwhile credit for their participation. On the other hand, when the heavier side of the yoke is compressed only upon the wealthy, they might be pressured thinking that their values lie solely on money, consequently hesitating the thought of persisting with their good work. From many perspectives, there is the paradox that the more one has the more he should give away; however, people are in full authority of their support level, no matter how rich or poor they may be. Therefore, it is unwise that they are to be circumscribed by any criteria of donation. In conclusion, I find myself nowhere near agreeable with people who regard one’s financial capacity as the ultimate index of their philanthropy for the aforementioned reasons. Hopefully, through abandoning such a limitation in human’s awareness, the act of doing charity work would no longer seem a far-fetched deed to our society.