Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the extensive usage of social media is worrying amongst all age groups. Most people spend most of their time scrolling through social networking like Facebook and TikTok to name a few. Subsequently, the trend of sharing personal information becoming more worrying. People share what they did, and where they are and this does come with risks. In this discussion, I would like to point out some advantages and disadvantages of these platforms. First of all, in general, we are well aware that by using social media, there is easy access to the latest news. For example the latest information regarding political and natural disaster issues. For example, if there are bad thunderstorms around our neighbourhood, we can do early preparation to pack the valuables item and can prevent losing important documents such as passports or identification cards. On the flip side, many of us, especially the youngsters, misuse these platforms. Some use social media to expose their personal matters. This is an open door to strangers as well as paedophiles to take chances from them. They start to approach these teens and bring them out. Data shows there is an increased number of teens getting raped while going out with strangers. This matter indirectly increased the number of poor mental health among teenagers. Not only to youngsters but, media social also is dangerous to the adults. There is a lot of online theft taking opportunities via online networking. They will blackmail people and fake their identity to scam these pity people. Some fell into the trapped and lost thousands of dollars. Indirectly, the victim will feel bad and devastated. In a nutshell, the recent advancements in technologies can be hazardous to people of all ages. If the government complement a law for these online crime and such, we may reduce these drawbacks. Despite many advantages of the use of social media, I personally think that the disadvantages are more than the advantages.