Some companies and organizations require their employees to wear uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing uniform?

Setting a dress code in the workplace is becoming increasingly common. In the following paragraphs, I intend to discuss the advantages and disadvantages of wearing a uniform at work. There are many advantages of having a costume. Firstly, a uniform makes the company look professional in the eyes of its clients. The way customers perceive a company is important for the type and amount of business it does. Secondly, when all departments are in a similar dress they feel united, because of which they tend to work with more dedication. Furthermore, apparel is also very important for keeping employees safe from injury. For example, protective clothing, gloves and headgear ensure employees' safety when working with chemicals or other machines. Attire is also very beneficial for other places of service, such as food factories or grocery stores as it portrays a feeling of cleanliness and also ensures the safety of consumers. Finally, having a uniform also saves time for personnel as they don't have to wonder what to wear or whether something would be appropriate to wear to work. On the other hand, there are a few disadvantages of a dress code. First, it can become very boring to wear the same clothes daily. Secondly, the attire may not be very comfortable to wear, which can affect the productivity of employees. Last but not least, restricting staff to a certain dress code limits their creativity. Individuals like to express themselves through their clothes. To conclude, a dress code is very essential nowadays in the workplace. The disadvantages are negligible as compared to the advantages.