Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is being argued that increasing the price of petrol is the way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. However, I totally stand against this idea because of uncontrollable inflation and urban chaos. The main reason for my disgareement with this idea is a sudden rise in prices. since in some countries with an oil-based economy such as my country, Iran, petrol is considered a basic commodity, any fractuation fluctuation fractionation in its price could affect the prices of all other items. for example, two years ago the price of gas was tripled which lead to an increase in cost of other products from grossery to electronic to public transportation. This put people under severe economic pressure. Subsequently, traffic and pollution may reduce to some extent. yet it is not worth to economic harms it cuses. Another reason for my disagreement to this proposition is the city life issues. In most cities of the world public transportation is not improved. There are not enough bus lanes and metro lines. The intervals between buses are too long. Public transportation is crowded and uncomfortable. As a resultof simple rain snowfall people are not able to commute to and from work. If petrol price were increased, the majority of society would not be able to afford it and tend to the public transportation which is not improved. Consequently, city life could be disrupted, because there is not enough public transportation is comparison with the number of individuals. In conclusion, to reiterate, I disagree with making petrol more expensive to control traffic and pollution because of unmanageable price escalation and municipal anarchy. If this solutionis solutions solution put into practice, it could have detrimental impacts.