In the past, most. People lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in a large city where they only know a few people in their area. what do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Settlements are essential in human existence since they provide shelter and a sense of belonging to the community members. But, in historic times, individuals used to settle in a small habitat where they knew each other well, compared to recent days where individuals live together in urban areas and they hardly know their neighbours. Nevertheless, there were benefits of living together like this such as community support, and socialization, as well as drawbacks like poor development and disputes. One of the major reasons why people used to live together in a small habitat is that they could offer psychological, emotional, and physical support to members of the community. This is simply because, through day-to-day interaction and proximity of their houses, they are aware of activities and events happening among all members of the settlement. For example, if a family member is sick, residents can easily spread the message and help in nursing and encouraging their neighbours in times of hardships. Thus, this can easily happen in a small community than in a large city. However, they are downsides associated with living in a small area. On the other hand, staying in a small area where one is well known is sometimes challenging when disputes arise. Sometimes there can be misunderstandings when people in an area argue over a certain issue and the matter may escalate resulting in poor relationships between them. For instance,children can accidentally break a neighbours windows leading to tension between them. Also, they are few opportunities for development in a small community since people know one another well, and it is more difficult to be recognised and appreciated than in a large city where they is competition and support. To conclude, despite demerits quarrels and poor advancement, living in a small city is more beneficial for the reasons of support and socialisation. ultimately, this way of living is now less common. 294 words.