Some people do not go directly to college but travel or work for a short time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

In this day and age, instead of attending tertiary education, many students travel or work in short-term time. To my way of thinking, the benefits of this phenomenon are equal to its drawbacks. On the one hand, there are numerous good points of taking a break between high school and college. First of all, through trips and working experiences, people can accumulate many soft skills, such as time management, communication, teamwork, which are really useful in university. Furthermore, trips and volunteer works not only expand their knowledge but also enhance their career prospect through precious experiences. For example, when people visit any destinations, they can know different cultures, people, weather conditions and local cuisines On the flip side, its disadvantages should be taken into consideration. The primary drawback is that travelling is money squandering. People consume a lot of money in tour, but in contrast, they may gain nothing from those. Secondly, people who have already make ends meet will find difficult to continue their study. They are attracted by money, with the dream of becoming affluent. Having all the aforementioned arguments, I would conclude that travelling and experiencing works apart from school brings several merits, but also serious bad points.