Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

These days, the government spends a large part of its budget not only on public services, but also the arts. Nevertheless, it seems debatable which one is supposed to be elevated to higher priority. From my perspective I agree that it is important to spend money on public services. There are several reasons for spending a significant amount of the government budget on public services. First and foremost, public services are the things such as hospitals, roads and schools, and these things determine the quality of life that most of us will have. For example, if the government does not spend enough money on hospitals, the health of our society may decline. Similarly, if not enough money is spent on schools, our children may not be properly educated. Also, it will be the poor in our society that will be affected more if we do not spend enough on these things because they are the ones more dependent on such services. On the other hand, public services ensures the development of various kinds of industries and trades. For example, if the government utilizes an adequate amount of budget on refining the public transportation, it will improve the mobility of products and services companies are trading in. In time, the entire economy of the nation will be boomed noticeably. To sum up, there are clear benefits of ensuring a large amount of investment goes into public services as this influences the quality of life for nearly all of us. Moreover, the national economy will take off as well since the government budget is used on the public service will create a beneficial environment to all the firms or corporations.