Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which is better?

Many students are made to attend certain courses when they are 15 years of age, while others are required to gain various subjects before leaving school. Although an education system with a broad range of subjects can provide diverse knowledge, that with a narrower range is better as learners have more space for other activities desired. Those supporting the former education system may claim that students can broaden their’s minds that they may need in their later life. Having a chance to attend many lectures, youngesters are taught numerous lessons related to various fields, many of which can be of great help when they grow up. For instance, in Vietnam, students aiming at engineering courses in university are only required to have good grades in Maths and Physics. However, the knowledge they have acquired in non-major classes like English or Computer Science can offer them a competitive edge when they apply for a job in a multinational company, compared to those who are not familiar with foreign languages or computers. On the other hand, learners study only a few subjects have more time for other purposes than those studying so many. To illustrate this, they have extra time either for stress relievers such as playing some sport or taking a rest or for further research. The former activity helps them relieve pressure at school and recharge their energy, whereas the latter is a good way of reviewing the lesson taught in class. Scientifically, these activities increase their results efficiency and academic performance, so such an education system is much better than that forcing the young to grasp various classes. In conclusion, although the knowledge learnt in various courses is potentially helpful, I believe that a lean study program is more beneficial to students who can have more time to master one field they desire.