Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What impact does this issue have on the society?

Science plays a significant role in the development of all aspects of human life. Despite this fact, the number of people who choose to study science at a higher level is still not enough. The reason for this could be that these subjects are more demanding than others, or that people do not understand the significance of science in our life, nevertheless, the consequences of this issue on our society are important. Although there could be various reasons for this behaviour, I believe that there are two main contributing factors to this. Firstly, the scientific field is hard to understand, and it requires a significant effort to master. Students who choose mathematics, for instance, study far more hours than those who choose humanities. Another reason is that our society does not understand the beauty of science. Not only because we are more emotional than logical creatures, but also because there is not enough awareness about the significant part that science plays in our everyday life. For example, when we use our mobile phones, we are not able to grasp the complexities of this simple device. Nevertheless, this problem affects our society in more ways than we can imagine. This is because the lesser the number of people who understand science, the slower we are to achieve advancement in all fields. The number of doctors who research treatment for the Covid virus, to illustrate, is proportionate to the likelihood of finding one. If more students choose to study science in college, we will have an increasing number of scientists whose purpose is human well-being. In conclusion, there are multiple reasons why students do not prefer science, two of which are: it is demanding and they do not understand the significance of it for us. As a consequence, this will hinder the development of our society specifically, and the development of humanity in general.