Museums and art galleries should show local history and culture instead of work from different countries. Discuss both views and give opinion.

Some feel that museums and art galleries ought to primarily focus on showcasing local, rather than international, works. In my opinion, despite the importance of domestic pieces for national cohesion, there is greater value in international items. Those who advocate for domestic art in national museums and exhibition halls point out the unifying effect. Students in every country are expected to learn their national history but these lessons can often feel impersonal and abstract. The chance to visit a museum and see authentic documents from the past revitalises history and can inspire patriotism. A standout example of this would be The Smithsonian in the United States, which houses key historic and cultural artifacts. Visitors from different parts of the country and disparate ethnic groups can potentially find common ground by reflecting on the struggles and achievements of their forefathers. Regardless, the citizenry as a whole can learn more from international artworks. Most people have learned their own nation’s history well but possess limited understanding of other cultures. Going to a museum featuring items from around the world is therefore an enlightening experience. For example, The British Museum in London famously contains one of the world’s largest collections of culturally significant artifacts from around the world. By seeing and reading the plaques for a variety of artworks both young students and adults alike have the opportunity to broaden their understanding of the traditions, cultures, and events that underpin the modern world. Over time, this can lead to a more inclusive, culturally diversified society. All in all, the patriotic positives of locally themed collections are outweighed by the educational benefits of globally sourced institutions. There must be a degree of balance but those in positions of authority should emphasise cultural diversity.