Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing [for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras]. In many cases, the people are being monitered are unaware that this is happening. Do you think advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

The modernistic technological implications are rapidly altering the conventional practices, and monitoring of individuals becomes one of the contemporary necessities. People are being monitored through cell phone trackers, surveillance, and security cameras as well as other digital online and offline devices; individuals, in many cases of such watches are not aware of the phenomenon. These innovative security measures entail extraordinary advantages including improved public safety and a reduced crime rate that are mandatory for a safe and sound society. I strongly defend the implied advantages of this practice and affirm their pre-eminence over some minor drawbacks. The notion of elevated safety of residents and premises can be deemed as a primary benefit of implementing monitoring measures in public areas. Through surveillance devices, people are proffered with an opportunity to shop, travel, clubbing, and roaming around safely and securely. Most of the culprits, unaware and oblivion about the hidden cameras, conduct some suspicious movements and can be caught by the monitoring team without any substantial public harm. For instance, PTZ security cameras can be installed on distinct and concealed places such as parking lots, crossroads, museums, retail stores, and halls to observe 360 dimensions and providing effective surveillance solutions, instantaneously. Another considerable advantage that utterly magnifies the imperativeness of monitoring people’s activities in public places is the mitigated crime index. Surveillance cameras and other similar devices are generally installed on unseen and inaccessible spots; the mere fear of being supervised impedes several criminals to commit a felony in the first place. Take the example of Humboldt Park, Chicago, which recorded a sizeable drop of 20% in the overall rate of crime incidents after the implementation of the practice. Opponents of the stance reflect that the idea of observing people’s activities attributes a few downfalls as well; the inefficacy of such measures and abuse of information are the most eminent among all. Denigrating views contend that surveillance cameras and other similar devices are incapable of impeding all crimes, and therefore, are ineffective; moreover, the monitoring team can misuse the recorded data for unfair purposes. Such setbacks, though carry minimum viability and can be pragmatically controlled through the intervention of adequate administrative strategies. To conclude, the practice of monitoring people through different surveillance and tracking devices is laden with an increased sense of security and sound communal premises. The associated insignificant reservations can be solved through deliberate and adequate interventions and can optimize the overall scope of gaining.