Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a controversial discussion about which subjects should be given the greatest importance in the academic curriculum. Some people consider that history is one of the most important school subjects, whilst some people argue that science and technology should be given the most important subjects. I opine with the latter view. It is undeniable that history is a compulsory subject in the academic curriculum in most countries. History provides people with knowledge of their culture and gives them identity and makes public learn lessons from the past. Moreover, by learning the tradition and culture, they may attempt to understand the foreign culture rather than judge it arbitrarily. For instance, when visiting India, people will respect their traditional way of eating food. Although it is essential to learn history, people cannot live without the internet and electronics in the future. With the development of technology, science and technology have gradually become major abilities in the workplace. It is significant that the demand for a person with high technical skills has increased in the job market, especially in Taiwan, which is a paramount area for the production of electronics. In addition to this, the salary of an occupation that requires science and technology abilities is usually much higher than the ability of history. Therefore, being equipped with this ability can help people be more competitive in the workplace. In a nutshell, it is true that history can help people learn from the past, but people should look forward to the future. In this case, learning science and technology is considerably more important than learning history.