Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rise of supermarkets can be seen in several nations, they are rapidly expanding and building chains throughout nations. Some people believe that this will endanger local shops causing them to fail in competing with large companies. I will provide an explanation on this statement and give my opinion in the following paragraphs. Firstly, supermarkets often have more resources to expend than local businesses. They can import more products from abroad where it would be difficult for local businesses to source from. Moreover, supermarkets have adequate funds to buy products in bulk, allowing them to sell their goods at a cheaper rate to the public. Secondly, supermarkets have various ways to build publicity in society. They have a structured strategy to attract customers by offering sales or promotions, so people are tempted to spend more on the products. In addition, they advertise themselves on television, newspaper, and on social media, which further expose them to the public as a way to build customer base. On the other hand, local businesses are often more connected to the community and know what the people want. The owners will often be presented in the shops so they are able to observe closely what people usually like. This will give them the advantage to focus on providing the precise services and products according to the local demands. In conclusion, I only agree to a certain extent that supermarkets do cause competition as there are now more choices for people to choose to buy goods from. However, this would not cause local businesses to close down as they can manage customer expectations better by meeting the needs of people from the neighborhood.