Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that a large amount of sugar is contained in man-made food and drink causing multifarious heart-related diseases. However, many people hold the view that these products should be held at a higher price to boost people to eat less sugar, and in my opinion, I strongly disagree with this idea. These days, high sugary food and drink are no longer a big problem among people from all over the world. One of the best solutions to this issue is that increasing the price can facilitate and motivate dwellers to cut down on their expenses for those products. Despite the fact that the citizens will surely have a tendency to buy cheaper and more nutritious food to consume, I believe this is a short-sighted view answer. To make this clear, putting a higher price on sugary products is actually stimulating people to buy them, especially children. For instance, many Asian families are inclined to buy sweets for their children just because they indulge and want to give them happiness. That is not wrong but eventually, it will result in a bad habit among the youth at an early age, and even worse, they might form into a sedentary lifestyle and also become obese. Another detrimental effect that is not all people would buy healthy food to eat, they are not coerced to spend their money on those products and they could use their money to buy fast food or alcohol for example. Therefore, giving sugary food at a pricey cost is not always the best choice to help people eat less sugar, instead, we should take into consideration its demerits of it. On the other hand, I firmly believe the harmful impacts of factory-made products having a large amount of sugar will certainly bring back health problems. Although sugar is a great component in a dish to provide energy for a day, overconsuming sugary products can cause some ailments including diabetes, heart diseases, and tooth decay. In detail, lacking other nutritious substances can not provide us with the necessary lipid, hence our body will be suffered from illness, and especially kids can not develop comprehensively. Another effect mentioned in the previous paragraph is obesity. According to research in America, more than 56% of citizens in this country are obese while the rate of adults who are overweight takes the lead in this figure with more than 25%. Besides, if the grown-ups are slightly a little bit heavy can be a bad example for children to look up to. Henceforth, the consequences of sugary products are harmful to consumers, particularly the youngsters which leads to bad leisure behaviour afterwards. In conclusion, after the aforementioned reasons, it is no doubt that the results of using products with high levels of sugar impact a lot on our health.