In the quest for development, many countries allow their natural environment to be affected. Such strategy is well worthwhile, and economic development should always be placed ahead of the environment. Argue both sides, and give your opinion.

Many countries around the world are trying advancing their civilization and improving the society. In the process of doing so, a number of nations allow the environment to be excessively exploited, and there have probably been many controversies surrounding this predicament. Regarding personal opinion, it is crucial to prioritize the development of the economy over the well-being of the environment due to the following reasons. Countries worldwide require resources to be able to avert natural catastrophes. For instance, the Black Death, a bubonic plague which wiped out about 200 million people, has been contained due to the advancement in medical system. In addition, others natural disasters could be likely to be avoided thanks to the evolution of technology. As the technological and scientific improvement is almost certain to be inseparable from the development of a country's economic, it is probably inevitable to sacrifice a portion of the environment to achieve that. Following the above reason, countries, in all likelihood, need economic power to build up their military. Nations around the world would likely take advantage of smaller and weaker countries to gain benefits for their own government. As a solution to prevent that from happening, some countries are in a marathon for military and economic power which may lead to environmental pollution. It might be claimed that it is not worth it to place the wealth of a nation above its living habitat. The argument for such statement is that this act would adversely affect the health and welfare of the people. However, human’s lifespan and health has been almost assured to surpass those of the previous generation due to the progress in science. It would probably be unwise to stop unlocking our potential to create a better and more prosperous society. In conclusion, the development of a country is crucial for human evolution. It could ensure our safety from natural disasters and protect us from potential threat of other hostile nations. Even though it might damage the environment, it is necessary to continue the endeavor to expand our society.