‘Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely.’ (John Dalberg-Acton) Explain the reasoning behind this statement. Argue that power does not necessarily degrade or weaken the morals of those who hold it. To what extent is it possible for someone to hold power without using it for their own personal gain?

The statement suggests that having power, or opportunity to take advantage of people, leads to the ill use of such power for personal gain, politically, socially, financially, etc, known as corruption. It implies that possession of it is the cause of such action and it occurs without exception, and that the more power, the more corruption. I would suggest this is because it provides opportunity for personal gain, relative to the amount of power, which becomes harder and harder to resist as the power increases. It is possible Dalberg meant that the very power itself does not cause corruption, but provides temptation and opportunity to those would seek personal gain at the cost of others, and by this logic, those who do not wish this would be well suited to power without taking advantage of it. This idea is echoed widely in our society, as many altruistic groups are providing many opportunities to seek financial gain for example; any charity has money passing to causes, but those responsible could take it for themselves, but don’t. Action aid provide money to Covid patients in India, rather than taking it for themselves, as an example of simple altruism. However, there are a great many examples of where people have had this altruistic opportunity and instead taken it for gain, like the CEO of a successful company paying as little as possible to workers, while taking all they can spare for themselves. There are so many cases of this greed, that it is proof enough that the chance provided by power is so tempting to anyone that it leads to this corruption. And, furthermore, much of the reason that this doesn’t occur more is because so many people are vigilant to corruption by those in power – effectively removing the opportunity afforded by the power, re-affirming the idea that when power does not corrupt, it’s because the power to be corrupt is not there – as in the case of charities, where books are scrupulously checked and kept, and criminal charges are threatened to those who are corrupt here. In conclusion, I believe that Dalberg-Acton suggests that power over people, money and resources, provides opportunity for financial gain to those willing to take it, and this becomes more tempting with more power. However, this is not universal and there are examples where people hold power and don’t manipulate it – but this is due to genuine altruism, and accountability in many cases.