‘Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely.’

The statement means that when someone is given power or a position where they can influence others, they will always want more and become greedy. People in power often become selfish and only think about their needs, and in people with absolute power, this happens to a greater extent. An example of this is a dictatorship – their absolute power over a country corrupts and often they become selfish and try to bend others to their will. However not all people in a position of power become corrupted. There are many jobs which provide people with power for example a teacher. Teachers have power over their students however they use this to educate and teach inexperienced individuals. Furthermore, members of parliament have strong morals through their promises to the public. When elected and placed in a position of power, their morals don’t change. I believe that it is very hard to have power and not use it for your own personal gain. Our subconscious will always play a role in our decisions and often the decisions made will benefit the person in power. Most often things you believe strongly in affect yourself directly or indirectly so how you use your power will definately affect you. In history we can see that people in absolute power, for example monarchs and dictators use their power to expand their nation by invading other nations to increase their power and wealth. In conclusion, I believe that people in power use it for their personal gain.