In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

By trying hard enough children can attain any position they want in life. This message is given to young people in many countries irrespective of social and economic differences. This essay will examine the merits and demerits of the given message. There are some obvious advantages to advise children to try hard to achieve anything. To begin with, children can develop persistency, which is considered a must have human trait, in future. In this modern era, it is easy to get lost in track of life. By developing persistency one can not only become successful in personal life but also bring reputation to one's country. For example, if a child try hard from childhood to become renowned scientist and someday invents something new like vaccine or transport method, then this will increase his country's reputation. Secondly, inspired by the message given to them, children can become perfectionist. Nowadays we use a lot of technologies which is not perfect for everyone to use. Children with such mindset would help in this regard. On the other hand, there also have some disadvantages of the given message. Firstly, children can develop frustration in their character. If children try heart and soul to achieve something but ultimately fail to do so, then this would be detrimental to their mental health. Mentally exhausted people cannot do fruitful things for themselves and for their societies. Next, bad character like envy can form in their trait. After trying so hard and becoming failed to reach a goal children can envy other who achieved the same thing with less effort. This envy would ultimately bring their demise. To sum up, although there are irrefutable benefits of trying hard to achieve something, there also lies some negative impacts of the message given to children.