Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. This has more advantages or disadvantages.

The professional world today has become extremely competitive. In order to reach the top, people have now started increasing their work duration due to which they rarely find any time for other activities. Working more hours might have some benefits when it comes to a career but it certainly has more side effects. This essay will talk about the pros and cons of long office hours. To commence with, people who work additional hours have an opportunity to learn and gain more experience in a shorter duration of time which will give a boost to their career. For example, someone who works for 12 hours a day certainly gains 50% more experience than a person who works for 8 hours. This places them in higher job positions in the early stage of their career. Although staying longer at work enhances career growth, it has numerous disadvantages. one of the major disadvantages is poor health, working extra hours disturbs the natural balance which makes you either compromise your sleep or your physical fitness. Health issues like disc bulge, obesity, and diabetes are increasing every day because people are not creating a perfect work -life balance. As someone who is suffering from poor back health, I know how wrong I was to work extra hours. In addition to that, due to increased working hours, people don’t have enough time for their loved ones which drifts them away and weakens the bonds of their relationship, ultimately leaving them with no emotional support when needed which affects their mental health. To summarize, additional working hours might give you more working experience and high income but in the long run, it is going to be a decision that you might regret someday. It is better to gain similar experience in 1.5 years instead of in 1 year than to be in bed for the next 6 months because of serious health issues.