Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed.

In this modern-day, the preference for the way people work is changing. They prefer to work as freelancer rather than be office employees. For some reason, currently, the income of freelancer is potentially high or even higher, as well as the temptation of time flexibility. However, there is no choice without risks. Thus the risk of being self-employed is the instability of income and job security that force freelancer to manage their savings well. First of all, the temptation of higher income and time flexibility becomes a reason for some people to choose to be self-employed. For example, travel vloggers or influencers can work from anywhere without sticking working hours as many companies apply, and their income might be as high or even significantly higher than office employees. Moreover they can make a hobby as a job. This might make them passionate about their work. On the other hand, there are always risks in every job, including freelancer. In fact, office employees have a more secure job than freelancer. They don't have only monthly income but also get health insurance and a pension fund that has been calculated by the company. For instance, the income of freelancer might not be the same every month. There is no allowance so they need to have a good financial plan for good health facilities and retirement. They need to spend their money not only on their basic monthly needs but also on health insurance, life insurance, and some retirement funds. In conclusion, the advantages of being self-employed have tempted many people nowadays. However, people who choose to be a freelancer need to mitigate the risks for better retirement life.