The best curriculum is not one based on a static body of knowledge, but one which teaches students to cope with change. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Plenty of schools and educational institutes worldwide have been teaching obsolete subjects and concepts to generations. Many would argue that today's schools should focus more on adaptability than traditional, discrete subjects. In my opinion, although there is a strong an argument for this contention given the disruptive nature of modern industries, it is nonetheless essential to preserving the traditional role of subjects in a curriculum. I shall highlight my opinion in the upcoming paragraphs. Those who support this reform contend that the skills needed for modern workforces are changing rapidly. Past generations could rely on subjects learned in high school and university, such as those related to accounting, finance, and so on, providing lasting job security. This guarantee is less stable now due to advances in automation and technology. Human workers are being phased out of specific roles and jobs at many companies and replaced by cheap software. Therefore, schools should teach adaptable methods for handling change to help them cope with an uncertain future job market. Logically, most of the subjects, such as math, sciences, history, physical education, etc., will not yield practical skills used daily throughout life, which is the source of many later complaints about school curricula. An excellent example of this would be Steve Jobs's classes about calligraphy in university, which later informed the lasting design of computer interfaces and word processors. In conclusion, despite realistic employment apprehensions, it is indispensable for students to possess foundational knowledge about various disciplines. Moreover, a binary distinction between subject knowledge and flexible skills is not always essential.