Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is ? what measures can governments take to discorage people from using their cars?

In the past three decades, there has been a significant rise in the number of private vehicles which has consequently led to traffic jams. In my opinion, it is completely true and therefore, various measures should be taken by the governing bodies so that this problem can be mitigated. It is not uncommon, these days that every family has more than one personal car. This is perhaps due to an increased affordability of the people to buy more vehicles. Moreover, due to easy availability of car loans from the banks in most of the cities it is now easy and convenient for individuals to purchase automobiles by paying monthly installments. To illustrate, in a recent study conducted in Korea, it was found that, there has been a two fold increase in the car ownership in the urban areas nowadays as compared to the past because of better paying capacities and raised standards of living of people in the cities. However, many measures can be taken by the government to sort out this problem. One of the best way to overcome this issue is the enhancement in the public transport system. For instance, Delhi is one of the major cities in India and is known for huge traffic jams. But with the introduction of the Delhi metro which is a railway transport system this problem has been solved to some extent. This is because commuters prefer to use metro instead of their cars as it is time saving and in addition to this it is cheaper also. Other than this, authorities should impose strict traffic rules so that this issue can be worked out. Moreover, government with the support of the mass media should create awareness among people regarding the drawbacks of heavy traffic jams on road. To conclude, undoubtedly, there has been a substantial rise in the car buying capacity of the people nowadays in comparison to the past due to more income and better living standars in the city. Nevertheless, many measures can be implemented by the governing bodies to overcome this problem for betterment of the nation as well as citizens.