Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree ?

It is undeniable that nowadays a plethora of refreshments are made from carbohydrates which is the key factor causing obesity and other medical conditions. While many are of the opinion that the best way to tackle this issue is increasing the price of these categories, there are those who disagree entirely believing that it will lead to myriad drawbacks. In my opinion, if the costs of sweets are made more pricey, people will reduce their consumption of them. Is the aforementioned method effective to solve this problem? I will discuss the benefits of this approach along with my perspective. To begin with, society prioritises the main dish before a confection,especially for those who have low incomes. Moreover, if the price of confectionery gets higher, citizens will have the propensity to cut down their expenses by reducing the sweetened food and drink. For example, when these items are overpriced, others from middle-class families cannot afford them and finally they stop consuming desserts. Thus, it is apparent that the former solution helps people decrease the number of pastries. It is fair to say that the earlier strategy also promotes the other healthy items indirectly, for instance,as the price tags of artificial orange juice are two times higher than those of real oranges, the latter will be selected by the vast majority of residents. Furthermore, it gradual makes everybody become more familiarised with the original sugary taste of fruits instead of synthetic ingredients. Hence, it is evident that adding taxes to these types of goods removes the daunting issue of chronic diseases. To conclude, I maintain that although a sweet-flavoured diet provides a lot of energy, it should be limited to a small quantity by making it unaffordable. If everyone ingests less sucrose, they will live longer without metabolic syndrome.