In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many companies promote their products by highlighting their novel features. This is attributed to a widespread belief that newer goods are better in appearance or in function, which, in turn, can boost sales. In my opinion, this is a constructive movement because it pushes limits for advancement in technology and science, as well as allows consumers to have a thorough understanding of their purchase. The motivation for stressing on the innovative features of the advertised product is to make it stand out from other similar goods. Consumers will be drawn to the promoted qualities, and gain an impression that this item is superior, either in appearance or in function. As more potential buyers are attracted by the advertisement, they are more likely to make an actual purchase, which can create revenue and income for the company. An obvious example would be Iphone, which has updated versions every year, with press conferences boosting its latest updates and advancement in function. As a result, this brings in millions of dollars of income for the brand. This clearly illustrates the most successful form of advertisement. I firmly believe this trend is advantageous for both the industry and its consumers. Firms can focus on developing new technologies to bring advancement to their merchandise, which can stimulate competition and constructive growth in the industry. Moreover, consumers can gain a deeper understanding of their purchases and enjoy a high standard of living. In conclusion, it is my firm belief that highlighting new features of products creates a win-win situation, boosting sales and income for industries and bringing about understanding of products for consumers.