Some people think that excessive use of smartphones badly affects teenagers' literacy skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the most common way of communication among young people occurs via digital mobile phones. Many individuals are very sceptical about it maintaining that the frequent usage of digital mobile devices is harmful to youth's reading and writing abilities. Personally, I also support the aforementioned statement and the main arguments are presented in this essay. First and foremost, short typing and symbol usage are negative aspects of mobile communication. More particular, young people are obsessed with texting and they mainly type shortcuts or icons instead of whole phrases, in order to achieve the quickest replying time. As a consequence, the rules of grammar, syntax and correct spelling are neglected and youngsters face crucial difficulties when they are called to write formal texts in exams. This can be clearly indicated by recent educational research proving that teenagers, who spent over 3 hours per day on their phones, received the worst marks in essay writing. Another point to support my argument is that reading via mobile devices is not beneficial for reading comprehension at all. Indeed, teens thought their phones are connected to social media platforms, in which they just scan short forms of texts missing the whole meaning. Hence, the brain is stimulated with incomplete meanings and forms destructed messages. For example, a Facebook notification over the phone lacks the correct syntax, so a young person is getting familiar with reading only through several words. In conclusion, although mobile phones have become a necessary tool for every young person, I insist in superiority that reading and writing should not be dismissed over the extensive usage of phones. Therefore, parents and educators should recommend a minimum use and point out the diachronic momentousness of literature.