In cities and towns all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem.

Undoubtedly the increasing traffic congestion has become a huge issue in many countries in the world. In this, essay I will discuss the main reasons for this trend and some measures to relax the issue. To start with, it is vital to discuss the matters which pertain to heavy traffic in certain areas. As I feel, the first reason is cars and other personal forms of transportation such as motorbikes and vans are no longer luxuries. Those can be afforded by many families. So people tend to use private transit methods as far as they could. The second factor for rising movement conditions is declined reliability of public transport such as buses and trains. These methods of transport sometimes lag behind the schedule or do not turn up for a few turns. Funding for public transport increasingly becomes a burden on the government. Thirdly, increased worker mobility has influenced people to travel in their own vehicles rather than taking buses. Access to the workplace or school is much easier and quicker by personal car. However growing transport conditions have raised many issues and it has to be controlled methodically. The government could encourage commuters to benefit the public transport system, by imposing a fine for driving motorcars during peak hours. A successful example of this is the congestion charge scheme in London which has immensely reduced inner-city traffic. Furthermore walking areas for pedestrians could be declared and restrict motorists to drive through. In,addition the government can introduce an incentive scheme for non-use of personal vehicles during a particular time in the day. In Conclusion,the increasing traffic should be addressed with proper measures of control as it poses many difficulties to the populace in general.