Food can be produced much more cheaply today because of improved fertilizers and better technology. However, some of the methods used to do this may be dangerous to human health and may have negative effects on local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, agriculture technology has developed exponentially to improve production and bring down costs dramatically. This is due to the technological advancements in inputs such as utilizing advanced types of fertilizer and chemicals that are highly effective on pests and diseases. These inputs can be injurious to human health due to residual heavy metals that come in with the crops causing carcinogenic conditions in human society. I totally agree with the above scenario which will be discussed in brief in the following essay. With the green revolution that occurred in the past food production has increased and as a, result cost has decreased drastically. One of the reasons for the high crop production is the application of advanced fertilizer and chemical types. In order to obtain higher production cultivators apply large quantities of fertilizer and chemicals and more frequently beyond the local recommendations. Additionally, agricultural production has mechanized replacing the large human cost involved. This has negatively effect on the incurred cost and production units are able to supply the food much cheaper. Although the new inputs have a high response rate they also have a high content of heavy metals. These metals and other harmful chemicals are channelled through the food chains and accumulate in humans. These harmful substances can cause cancer and other medical conditions to us. In some areas in USA the weedicide, " Glyphostate " was banned as many people who consumed the specific vegetable were affected with cancers. To conclude, modern-day fertilizer and chemicals have improved crop production and made food cheaper but it also has affected the human race by causing numerous medical conditions. Therefore, I agree with the above and belive that the inputs should be utilized in a controlled manner.