Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that governing bodies should provide more expenditure for the enhancement of railways instead of roads. I firmly believe, that increased capital should be utilized for the railways as it is more convenient and ecofriendly. To begin with, the authorities should emphasise on the construction of railways rather than roads because railways are more enviroment friendly, thus contributing to less air pollution. On the other hand investing in roads will consequently lead to increased number of private vehicles, thus polluting the nature. For instance, with the introduction of the Metro in Delhi which is a railway based transportation system, it has been found that nowadays commuters prefer to travel by metro and the studies illustrates that pollution rate in the city has been significantly declined due to this fast track transportation system. The other reason behind this is that railways are more convenient, time saving and affordable as compared to other modes of road transportation. Moreover, if increased number of commuters will travel by railways than one of the major issue of the traffic jams can be mitigated. One of the best examples, of this can be seen in Japan where people choose to travel by trains as according to them they find it time saving and cheaper and pertaining to this there has been a gradual decline in traffic jams on the roads after introduction of more subways. To conclude, roads are the major mode of transportation but enhancement in the railways can be more beneficial with respect to the enviroment and public welfare. Hence, I believe that funds should be raised by the authorities for development in the sector of the railways so that its citizens can be benefitted.