Some people think that universities should provide graduate with the knowledge and the skills needed in the workplace. Other think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What is your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Education plays a pivotal role in shaping the professional life of a person. There are some people who think that gaining knowledge in the same field always fetch fruitful results in future, while others opine it and believe that college should focus on teaching all aspects of life regardless of one single subject. This essay will state why it is beneficial to get an education in the same field and what universities can do to provide appropriate knowledge about a particular subject. On one hand, by providing graduates with the suitable knowledge of the course, some people think universities can help them master in their specific fields. In other words, people who study only those subjects that are related to their future pursuits are more dedicated and focused in their life. For example, 90% of people in America have mastery in their work because they have studied and gained experience in the same subject. This not only makes them confident in their work but also provide them with success in their life because they are masters of their field. On the other hand, others are against it and they prefer university should provide access to all the subjects so that children can learn different things in a single course. To be more specific, educating them on different subjects will provide a wide range of choices for their careers. To illustrate, a report in the London times has shown that people who study different subjects their graduation usually have various aspects to choose. Therefore, a commerce student after graduation has a huge list of jobs for which he/she can opt. I am an advocate of the statement that universities should only provide pupils with the specific knowledge of the subject which is helpful for their workplace as it will help them to attain more knowledge of the subject and they can focus more on the same. In conclusion, it would be great if a person gets mastery in their own field else it will not be wrong to say that a Jack of all trades, is a master in none. If one wants to gain knowledge in a specific field, a person should start it from a mere small age and it will only happen if the university provides them with some knowledge. I, strongly recommend that the university should work on making people valuable in their own field by providing them with the same knowledge that they need for their future occupations.