Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has been a contentious debate about whether university students should choose a subject based on their willingness or have a regulation to guide some students into the fields with socioeconomic advantages. I believe a balanced approach might be a better solution to answer individual interests while aligning with societal needs. On the one hand, maintaining an environment that allows pursuing majors out of passion contributes to fostering innovative and motivational academic approaches in all areas besides individual fulfilment. Therefore, as a result of this improvement, creativity rockets and helps deepen knowledge across various fields. For example, students with competence, talents, and skills to work on expanding AI utilization may come up with some ground-breaking ideas because of the intrinsic motivation they have to continue their profession, whereas obligating them to study other aspects of science would not have the same result. On the other hand, advocates of focusing on fields with profound benefits to the economy and society approach believe that, particularly in an era of rapid technological advancements, subjects such as computer science, engineering, and biotechnology have a fundamental role in driving innovation, solving national and global challenges and bringing substantial eco-societal growth. With this perspective, spotted weaknesses and gaps in different fields can be worked on to ensure sustainable developments over time. For instance, if a nation is in conflict to solve some financial issues, having some graduates with expertise in financial problems can help to solve them and prevent forthcoming potential threads in that area. In conclusion, although national priorities in science, technology, and other areas are essential for further future progression, restricting students solely to these fields would put academic freedom in danger. A multidisciplinary approach, which brings in opportunities for students to chase their interests while recognizing the importance of holistic education, might be the most advantageous.