In marriages today, some argue that it is the responsibility of both spouses to earn a living for the family. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that in institution called marriage both the husband and wife should earn and contribute for attaining a good family life. I completely agree with this notion as due to increased expenditures and high living standards nowadays, couples should share equal responsibilities for running a family. In this modern world, due to hike in prices in each and every sector it is not practically possible to run a family single handed. Due to fall in economy in various countries everything is affected which has subsequently lead to more rise in expenditure as compared to previous years. For instance, in a recent study conducted in India, majority of the ladies in the cities as well as countryside area are working for providing better living for their families and this data of earning women is double in comparison to the figures from the past years. Therefore, both the spouses should earn, so that their life could be balanced and they do not suffer from economic crisis. On the other hand, if both the partners will work and earn they can mange to have high living standards and they can provide all the amenities to their families. For example, nowadays in most of the countries such as USA, Korea and UK, there has been a substantial rise in the tution fee in most of the top rated institutions and with the earnings of single individual it is not possible to provide admissions in high rated schools and universities. However, with the combined efforts and earnings of both the spouses it is possible forthem to provide good life and good eduction to their children. To conclude, in marriage if a couple earns together and distribute all responsibilities equally including the financial sharing, it will definitely contribute to better future. Hence, I firmly believe that both the partners should earn so that they can have prosperous family life.