Computers are now the basis of the modern world. They should therefore be introduced into classrooms, and their programs used for direct teaching purposes. However, dependence on computers in teaching may carry a certain degree of risk to students. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, computers have an integral part of our daily lives especially at work and schools. It has helped in making work easier and faster. Some people believe that computers should be used in classrooms and uses the various computer software as a method of teaching students directly. However, some are on the fence of using computers in schools as they think they carry specific degree of risks to young learners. Personally, I think it is harmful for students to use computer lessons in schools. Recently, there has been a surge of work from home jobs as the pandemic hits and there is an increase number of people who spends their time in front of the computer. Students need to have a wide understanding of how the computer works. In this sense, exposure to computer and technology will aid students in creating foundation for success. Another thing is that it encourages spontaneous learning. As students have access to the net, it can help them in investigating various topics that interests them. For instance, a student that is intereseted more about dinosaurs can easily research this topic and can read articles and publish books or watch a supplementary Youtube video on it. On the other hand, using computers in school have some risks associated with it. It can isolate a student from others because it links through a social network online. They can also spend more time using the devices and have lesser times interacting with their peers. In my experience, as the classes were moved online, I may had more time spent at home but my time interacting and socialising with my peers decrease a lot. Another disadvantage of using computer is that it decreases creativity among students as sunjects already have a pre-made activities without the students having to solve problems in creative and imaginative ways. In conclusion, utilising computer in schools are advantageous as it aids learners to create foundation for their achievements and can aid them in learning more however, it can be detrimental as well as it isolates them from others and stunts creative and imaginative skills.