Computers are now the basis of the modern world. They should therefore be introduced into classrooms, and their programs used for direct teaching purposes. However, dependence on computers in teaching may carry a certain degree of risk to students. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, computers have an integral part of our daily lives,especially at work and school. It has helped in making work easier and faster. Some people believe that computers should be used in classrooms and uses various computer software as a method of teaching students directly. However, some are on the fence about using computers in schools as they think they carry a specific degree of risk to young learners. Personally, I think it is harmful to students to use computer lessons in schools. Recently, there has been a surge of work from home jobs as the pandemic hits and there is an increasing number of people who spends their time in front of the computer. Students need to have a wide understanding of how the computer works. In this sense, exposure to computers and technology will aid students in creating a foundation for success. Another thing is that it encourages spontaneous learning. As students have access to the net, it can help them in investigating various topics that interest them. For instance, a student that is interested more in dinosaurs can easily research this topic and can read articles and publish books or watch a supplementary Youtube video on it. On the other hand, using computers in school have some risks associated with it. It can isolate a student from others because it links through a social network online. They can also spend more time using the devices and have lesser time interacting with their peers. In my experience, as the classes were moved online, I may have more time spent at home but my time interacting and socialising with my peers decrease a lot. Another disadvantage of using computers is that it decreases creativity among students as subjects already have pre-made activities without the students having to solve problems in creative and imaginative ways. In conclusion, utilising the computer in schools is advantageous as it aids learners to create a foundation for their achievements and can aid them in learning more, however, it can be detrimental as well as it isolates them from others and stunts creativity and imaginative skills.