Because many children are not able to learn foreign languages, schools should not force them to learn foreign languages.

To what extent do you agree or disagree? It is debatable that schools should not include a second language in their compulsory curriculum since it is challenging for students to learn foreign languages. Some feel that forcing incapable students to learn foreign languages cause demotivating them and putting them in stressful situation. In my opinion, considering the positive effects such as educating open-minded perspectives and job opportunities in the future, all students should be taught a second language at schools. To begin with, as language is intimately related to culture, foreign language education is not just language education, but also cultural education. To be specific, young children can broaden their horizons by experiencing the way people from other countries think and knowledge of other cultures through learning foreign languages. One study, for example, shows students who have experienced foreign languages tend to understand other cultures and have open attitudes. This demonstrates how important learning different languages are for a student despite of their language learning capacity. In addition, if schools do not enforce language education just because of lack of children’s learning ability, young people who are not affordable to be educated privately have fewer chances to get promising jobs after graduation. It is obviously true that in modern society, more and more companies are looking for the applicants who completed foreign language courses. According to a recent survey conducted in Korea, most companies consider the completion of foreign language education as a requirement for employment. In this regard, all students should learn foreign languages at schools to have fair opportunities at job market after graduation. In conclusion, despite the compulsory education may cause stresses to children who are lack of learning ability, foreign language education should be designated as a mandatory subject so that students can broaden their perspective on the world and have promising jobs in the future.