Some people think that food is one of the most fundamental economic products and should be mostly produced by each country for its own consumption, with only minimal export of products to other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A growing number of people believe that basic necessities, such as food are one of the most fundamental economic products and should be mostly produced by each country for its own consumption, with only minimal export of products to other countries. I completely disagree with this view because it would lead to lower state revenue and present less experience to taste a myriad of dishes from other countries. Firstly, Minimizing the export of basic products will decrease significantly economic growth in the state. Especially, in Agriculture countries such as Thailand, Laos and Cambodia. By and large, export is considered the most common intervention made by the government in collecting income, which is vital to fund the public's needs. If the government does not have a vision for exporting products. They will suffer from an administrative country. All people will suffer from economic problems. Another noticeable reason why I believe limiting export activities is not a good option is that it would make people have less experience to taste a countless number of special foods across the world. It is often said that by marketing domestic products to international buyers, people could consume a plethora of unique dishes from other countries. Take ramen as an example. Obviously, by selling this dish outside Japan, people could taste its’ unique textures, spices and herbs, which cannot be found in their home countries. Consequently, people would have more experience in tasting international cuisines. To sum up, in my view, reducing global trade on basic needs could significantly reduce the state revenue and present less global cuisine experience. Unless the government creates a balance between domestic consumption and export activities, it is unlikely to provide proper public facilities and allow local citizens to experience a novel taste of food.