Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that sweetened food should be made more costly in order to discourage sugar consumption and to ensure healthier lifestyle. I completely disagree with this opinion, as it is my firm belief that reduced sugar intake is based on health awareness, rather than on economic incentives. Elevation of sugar price is not a solution for reducing its intake. The crux of this issue lies in the lack of healthcare awareness. Since people are unaware of potential problems associated with over- intake of sugar, they will continue this behaviour, especially those who enjoy taking desserts. Excessive intake of sugary foods can lead to multiple health problems, such as obesity, diabetes, hypertension and coronary heart disease, and the public should be educated on this topic. Only by enlightening teenagers, adults as well as elderly the perils of excessive sugar intake can bring about a drop in sugar usage. Another reason why expensive price of sugar is unable to curb its usage is that sugar is a everyday neccesity. Sweetners are an essential part of our diet and it is difficult to cook a decent meal markedly reduced sugar. Even if the price of sugar is elevated, adequate amount of this seasoning is needed for making food tasty and desserts attractive. If restaurants are forced to prepare food with less sugar, it is predictable that the underseasoned food will not be welcomed. Worse, if price of sugar was raised and become less affordable to general public, wealthy families may even use sugary food as a means to flaunt wealth. Therefore it is impractical to believe this policy is effective in limiting sugar use. In conclusion, it is in my opinion that rising price of sugar and related foods is not the answer for lowering its use. Given this situation, it seems that education on sugar -related health problems is the most effective method to decrease sugar usage.