In marriages today, some argue that it is the responsibility of both spouses to earn a living for the family. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many these days contend that both spouses should work and provide for the entire family. In my opinion, though advisable in certain circumstances, it is preferable to subdivide roles within a family. Those who support this argument focus on the righteousness of empowering women in marriages. Historically, women did not have the freedom in most cultures to work. In recent decades, as women have gained more rights both formally and informally in society, this has allowed them to extend themselves through their careers. Connected to this empowerment is also a sense of duty. Not only do women now have the opportunity to work and develop their full potential but, they also have the privilege of taking on greater responsibility. The end result is they can both help alleviate financial burdens at home and gain improved self-esteem. However, a clear division of responsibilities in a family is the best way to nurture one’s child. If both parents work, as has become increasingly common in Western nations, there is a strong likelihood the children will be neglected. Though affluent families can mitigate this drawback with a nanny to look after the children and a cleaner, this is a poor substitute for the love of one’s actual parents. Moreover, most working-class families must simply work harder at their jobs and at home. This can produce significant fatigue over the long term and cause parents to feel powerless, overextended, and even lead to anxiety conditions and depression. In conclusion ideally both parents would have jobs but in,reality this does not allow for proper balance in a family. This does not imply that only males should have jobs as either the husband or wife can become the primary earner.