n major cities around the world, traffic congestion has become a serious problem. How can this problem be tackled? Give reasons and examples from your own experience

The issue of increased vehicle traffic in metropolitan cities has become a grave and immediate concern. This might be due to various reasons;overpopulated areas and a higher number of cars on the road being at the top of the list.Reducing the entry of people into the city and the number of motors on road can be ways to decrease the congestion to a great extent. To begin with, the increased influx of immigrants to bigger towns and easy access to private vehicle ownership is considered to be some of the reasons for traffic.Youngsters from various parts of the country would prefer relocating to a city rather than their native village,due to the lucrative pay and decent standard of living. For example,there is a daily influx of 10,000 people in Mumbai city despite its small area because of the attractive opportunity provided by the Bollywood headquarters,leading to one of the heaviest traffic witnessed on their roads. Furthermore,India is one of the countries which provides a seamless procedure to acquire and own a personal vehicle,thereby increasing the density of motor mobility on roads. For instance,some countries like Singapore,charge a heavy fee to own a private vehicle in order to reduce their movement. To address the above issues,several steps can be undertaken to reduce the overall traffic in metros,namely regulating the immigration from different states and limiting the movement on the roads. Although monitoring of movement of the population in and out of a state or a city may be a mammoth task, providing franchisees of various job sectors in smaller towns would be a better way to reduce overcrowding.Adding on to that,different time slots for cars to move on the roads can reduce the congestion to a greater extent. For example,Delhi city has proposed a novel idea of movement of odd and even-numbered cars on alternate days,reducing the traffic to almost half. To conclude,many cities face the problem of increased motor traffic,due to their immensely populated areas and their straightforward approach to vehicle acquisition.They can be addressed by certain actions aimed at regulating the staggered entry of individuals and limiting the transit of vehicles on the road.